1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Marmalade time again

I use my iPhone as my alarm, but wake up if anyone sends me a text/Whatsapp message. Sav suggested I turn the phone to 'Airplane' mode, so no communications can come through. Great idea!

So I got up at 6.30am and was at the flats to resume painting ( after two days off ) before 8am. Only thing was, they'd changed the lock in my absence! I took my phone out to find out what was going on, realised it was still on ' Airplane' mode and as soon as I switched it on, a message came through from my friend telling me to take the day off as they'd changed the lock and not got a key for me yet!

So, I went back to my marmalade. Managed to burn myself on the handle!

As I got it boiling I realised I needed sugar. Now, I normally I would never dream of leaving the gas on, but as the marmalade needed at least an hour, I turned it down low whilst I popped to a nearby mini supermarket, not 5 minutes away. However I thought 89p a bag was too much, so went back to the car to return home. Except the car wouldn't start!

Damn!

Luckily my brother was able to come to my rescue, calling in at a local garage to get a battery jump starter thing. The car started in a jiffy so we drove to the garage where they changed the battery for me and I was home again in 5 minutes! Nice to have a brother with contacts ( the owner drinks at the pub my brother manages )!

When I got home, Joy was wondering where I was as I'd invited her for coffee after seeing to her horse. It was only 10:30am but I needed that coffee!

After Joy left, I went to a different supermarket, bought some sugar but didn't have time to finish making the marmalade, so shelved it for another day and went to poop pick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.