My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

When I'm Sixty-Four

For my recent birthday Mrs blip was going to bake me a cake.

She asked me what I'd like and when I said 'Paradise Slice' (honestly, it tastes wonderful!) she said mmm, pick something else.

Well of course I said I didn't mind what she baked as it would be lovely.

In fact I'd happily settle for an iced fruitcake from M&S, as that was the style of cake I used to have every birthday, when I was a child.

I don't particularly like the plain sponge birthday cakes that are foisted upon us nowadays.

I suppose it's because they're cheaper to produce.

She reminded me I already had that sort of cake and it was lurking somewhere in one of the cupboards.

So in the end we compromised, she didn't bake me a cake.

And my fruitcake is still lurking!

Oh well, only another 19 birthdays and I'll be able to use the candles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.