My Heroic Apricots

These apricots don’t look pretty, but they have the most intense apricot flavour I have ever come across. I’ve bragged about them before. The tree is on the edge of a bank in the unrestricted path of both the powerful winds we have, the nor’wester and the sou’wester. The latter hits the tree broadside and also in a lethal updraft due to the bank. Blossoms, leaves and fruit are battered without mercy. Usually hardly any fruit make it to ripening, but this year the tree is loaded. These apricots are from the lee of the tree and are among the best. Most are much uglier. They are difficult to pick because of the steep bank. I hold on to a rope and swing out to pluck them with a grabber. They are perfect with my homemade soft cheese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.