Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Simon Nicol

Firstly, a great big thank you for all the stars, hearts and support for my birthday Blip. I'm truly touched.

And now for something completely different... or, more accurately, more of the same old nonsense!

As a youngster, the first music I got seriously into was of a punk/post punk/new wave type. And I still love that stuff!

But, later in my teens, I had a Damascene moment when I discovered the myriad mysteries and countless charms of the folk scene. It's surprisingly like punk in many ways - but the trousers aren't as cool.

Anyway, I well recall the day I bought a second-hand copy of Fairport Convention's classic 1969 album 'Liege and Lief', on spec, from my local Vinyl Exchange. I must've been about 15 or so, I suppose. I still have that record and have checked to see how much it set me back. A whopping £1.95. One of the best investments of my life! In 2006 it was voted the 'Most Influential Folk Album of All Time' and I wouldn't dispute that.

The acquisition of that album was the start my love affair with Fairport Convention who remain the band I've seen play live more often than any other. I estimate that I've seen them about 30 times and they never disappoint!

They formed in 1967, in Muswell Hill, as a sort of English answer to Jefferson Airplane. Their rhythm guitarist was the gentleman whom you see before you here, the great Simon Nicol. Indeed, it was at the 17 year old Simon's family home, Fairport, that the young musicians convened for their early rehearsals. Hence the band's name...

Over the years there have been more line-up changes than you can shake a (fiddle) stick at, and a few shifts in musical style, but the spirit that is Fairport continues unabated.

It's been a good 30 years since young Simon (now aged 66) emerged from the, not insubstantial, shadows of former band members including the great Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson and Dave Swarbrick and became the amiable, avuncular and linguistically dexterous front-person that he is today - and almost 20 years since the current line-up solidified - Dave Pegg (bass player since 1970), Ric Sanders (violin since 1985), Chris Leslie (vocals, fiddle, mandolin, bouzouki, banjo, whistles etc etc since 1996) and Gerry Conway (drums since 1998).

Obviously, I just had to catch them tonight at the Camp and Furnace at the start of their current, 50th anniversary (yes, 50th Anniversary!), tour.

Here's a clip of them playing 'Matty Groves' at the very same venue just last year... www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FRnua8e3-0

The earliest published manuscript of 'Matty Groves' dates from 1658 and Fairport first recorded it for the aforementioned 'Liege and Lief' back in 1969 when Simon looked rather more like this... http://www.gettyimages.co.uk/detail/news-photo/photo-of-fairport-convention-and-simon-nicol-simon-nicol-news-photo/85350004?#photo-of-fairport-convention-and-simon-nicol-simon-nicol-performing-picture-id85350004 I suppose it could be categorised as a classic traditional ballad about patriarchy, passion, class warfare and murder.

I think they probably play it as the closing number at every show they do, and I never tire of it!

Tonight they played a bunch of new songs and tunes - some for the first time - and a wonderful selection of old favourites including, in no particular order:

Genesis Hall
Farewell, Farewell
Who Knows Where the Time Goes?
Fotheringay
Rising For the Moon (with great lead vocals from support act, Sally Barker)
Now Be Thankful
Sir Patrick Spens
Portmeirion
The Hiring Fair
The Naked Highwayman
Matty Groves
Meet On The Ledge

Thanks very much to Fairport members past and present for providing such a big part of the soundtrack of my life, thanks to the band for a great gig tonight, thanks to Simon for being a good sport and mugging for the camera (see also the Extra shot) and to the passing stranger who volunteered to take the shot of me and Simon which I've included as another extra. As you can see, I was thrilled to be in the company of such a musical hero of mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.