Missycat

By Missycat

Big Garden Birdwatch

Each year the RSPB asks  us to take part in the Big Garden Birdwatch:

'Big Garden Birdwatch is the world’s largest garden wildlife survey. Now in its 38th year, it takes place on 28, 29 and 30 January 2017. People are asked to spend just one hour watching and recording the birds in their garden or local public space, then send their results to the RSPB.'

I must confess that as it was miserable and raining for most of the day I did not take up my usual position in a back bedroom to observe our garden for an hour: notoriously the birds seem to 'know' and I can guarantee that there will be less feathered visitors during that hour than at any other time!

I did, however set up my camera in the front room to take some shots of this blackbird, who has, with a couple of mates, been visiting our cotoneaster bush for several days in succession now.  These berries are most definitely the least popular, always the last to be consumed and almost exclusively by the blackbirds.

Shots are not good, taken through glass and I dare not get closer to the window as they watch it constantly looking for any (threatening) movement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.