Winter Blues

Dear Diary,

It is ice fishing season here in Maine.  Although I have never seen the appeal of it I do enjoy the little ice houses that dot the ponds and lakes at this time of year.  This one is on a pond just north of my house.  The scene was a symphony of blues and it suits my mood.

Many northerners head south around this time and I do understand the appeal of that.  It is so cold, 10F this morning, and the driveway is a sheet of ice making walking problematic.  There is a storm approaching for Wednesday they say.  Hopefully, Mr Groundhog won't see his shadow and we will have an early spring.

I was just reading my daily meditation from Fr. Rohr and he was speaking about trying to nurture a contemplative mind; a mind that sees things as they are without judging.  Most of us struggle with a more dualistic mind; everything is judge right or wrong, good or bad.  With the contemplative mind it is more an "either/and" approach.  So, along with patience I need to practice contemplative seeing.  Without the cold and ice and snow I wouldn't have my symphony of blue to post today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.