They are not just words.

Dear Diary,

It is 2F this morning and snow is on the way tonight.  It is so icy and cold it is hard to drag myself out of my warm, cozy home.  I was looking for this morning's photograph and I found it on a window sill.  The wonderful stone owl was a Christmas gift from the woman I went to the March with.  I adore owls and he will find a place in my garden this spring.  The little pieces with words on them were also a Christmas gift, from my cousin Mary.  I will put them along the walk in my meditation garden once the snow melts.

These words would probably sum up my whole philosophy of life.  Peace is a state of mind and heart.  Without it your life is fraught with stress and anxiety.  "Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me. has always been a favorite hymn of mine.   Hope springs eternal in the human heart, without it life can be just one grim day after the other.  "Kindness is my religion", the Dali Lama says and it is profoundly true.  It take so little effort to be kind, to human beings and to animals, and the effects are far reaching.  And then there is Love.  Someone asked the Buddha what the difference was between liking something and loving it.  He said, "When you like a flower you gladly pluck it; when you love a flower you water and tend it every day."

They are more than just words.  They are a guide to a happy life I think.  I really feel that if you practice these four words, with earnestness and patience, you will have many reasons to be filled with gratitude and joy no matter what life brings you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.