Drummond Pleasure Ground

A beautiful bright, frosty morning (see extra) which carried on being lovely till midday. I'd been doing some work in preparation for a busy end of this week/start of next week but I really wanted to be outside. So I got the dog and went up the Gowan Hill where I haven't been for quite a few weeks. The light on the hills was very pretty but I decided to blip the Star Pyramid. The pyramid sits within the Drummond Pleasure Ground and is situated between the castle esplanade and the Valley Cemetery which I've blipped before. Dating from the 1860s the Star Pyramid, like cemetery itself, is all about Presbyterianism. William Drummond, who commissioned the pyramid and gave the surrounding garden (the Pleasure Ground) to Stirling is buried nearby in a granite sarcophagus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.