Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

It's Cookie Time

It was a good day. It was really, really cold when I left for church in the morning but found myself sweating by the time I started home from breakfast. It has finally gotten into the mid-70's/23-ish.  I spent a little time with mom then headed over to Walgreen's.

I am a sucker for kids.
I am a sucker for Girl Scouts (I was one).
I am a total  sucker for Girl Scout cookies.
I am a sucker for instilling in girls the idea that they have power and can accomplish anything.

This little Cadet had a table set up outside of the store.  I messed around with her and her parents, joking and trying to show off my knowledge of scouting, like Juliette Low founding the organization in 1912. They were impressed, I was goofy.

I bought four boxes and headed home.  I was still dressed for a frigid morning, so I quickly threw on some shorts and walked to a few neighbor's houses giving away the cookies I bought.  Then I climbed back into the car, went back to the store and bought six more boxes from this GS cutie.  Before I left, I slipped a note to her dad with this well-known GS song to give her:

Make new friends
   but keep the old;
One is silver
    and the other's gold.

I gave away  all but two of the new boxes, even stopping strangers walking past my house in order to share the  'power of girls.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.