Shoot from the Hip (MM158)

Every day is a school day ... and today I learned that back button focusing is not good for photographs taken from hip level!  (also a little about noise reduction and how to spell parterre*)

We had a quick walk around Charlecote Park this afternoon as after a weekend of night shifts, what I need is some fresh air and open skies.   My 'people images' didn't work well, either due to dodgy framing,  not enough people or poor focus setting, so this one of the coffee machine in the cafe will have to do :-)  It was taken from hip level after I had set the focus normally.   I guess at the root of this is my general disquiet with making photographs involving other people without them actively giving agreement, although I did give some thought to what I might do if the chances of being noticed were minimal ... silent shutters etc?

Quite a dull dismal afternoon so the poor light has allowed some noise to creep in which I've used to try out some of the noise reduction techniques in this week's Amateur Photographer.  I should have thought more about where to focus too!

* my spelling ability has never been good - too much time trying to understand the why - anything involving two consonants is a particular low point.

Update - after weeks of prevaricating I have changed the username on my journal to something much closer to my real name!

Mono Monday - hosted this week by Marlieske.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.