Mono Monday Challenge - Shooting from the Hip

This week's challenge was a difficult one for me. Street photography in Dunbar is limited as there is but one major shopping street, the High Street. and on a cold and frosty morning it was anything but bustling. However, apart from the sparsity of subject matter there was another major difficulty. The long raking winter sun had chosen that time of the day to align itself almost exactly with angle of the High Street so looking oneway you faced silhouettes of people walking down the pavement and shooting in the opposite direction people's faces tend to white out and they were in any case shading their eyes to see where they were going (see bottom left of the tetratych) (or quadritych and yes I did have to look these up !). 


I chose to use 4K video to give me a better chance of getting a half decent shot and this worked well as people did not have to see me pressing the shutter button. I could set the video in motion and saunter up the street with passersby being blissfully unaware of my candid photography then switch it off when they were passed . Even so I found it quite challenging and have probably chosen to present you with a tetratych as I did not feel anyone of my images warranted pride of place. Nevertheless thanks to Marlieske for setting the challenge as it is probably a technique I might employ in the future when the conditions are more propitious.

By the way one of my images has been flipped horizontally to fit better into the tetratych, I wonder if you can work out which one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.