MonoMonday: Street Photography at Hip Level

Many thanks to Marlieske who's done a grand job of hosting MonoMonday this month. She's given us some fab challenges, none more so than today's.

I've always meant to get round to trying hip-level street photography but never did. So today I set off to Newcastle centre to try it out. The link that Marlieske provided for advice was very helpful; it's clear that a lot of practice is needed to get one's technique up to scratch.

My first problem was (horror of horrors!) that I realised I'd gone and left my new Olympus camera 170 miles away at Mum-in-Law's house in Cheshire! - I wanted to use it's rapid fire/silent shutter mode and its good high ISO capability. (Fortunately my Editor is going back there for a couple of days in a few days' time so I should get it back by the weekend.) So I had to dig out my trusty old Canon, which does have a moderately good rapid fire but no silent shutter (and its high ISO capabilities aren't nearly as good as the Olympus). Never mind.

Anyway I had great fun and I don't think anyone noticed what I was doing (phew). In a remarkably short time I'd taken nearly 500 shots, which I quickly whittled down to a very few possibilities for today's blip. In the end I settled on this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.