a lifetime burning

By Sheol

This is hip

Mono Monday: Street photography at hip level

There's a little musical something to go with this here....

This is a shot of Bristol's St Nicholas market, a popular place for street food during the working week.  I wish that I'd thought to take all my shots here, I was actually getting slightly desperate in my effort to get a blip sorted by the time I happened upon the market today.

I managed to get only 3 useable shots from the 150 shots that I took at hip level during my lunch hour in my efforts to complete this challenge.  When I say useable I actually mean shots that I was prepared to let anyone else see as people, the majority were really , really awful :-)

The key issues for me were:

- Shots out of focus
- Shutter speed to slow: too much blur
- Apperture too wide: depth of field too shallow 

There was then the additional problem that where I managed to get those things right the composition was then poor (this was always going to be hit and miss as the shots were all being taken as I was walking).  

I've definitely learned some useful camera control lessons from this little exercise!  So, many thanks to our host for Mono Monday again this week, Marlieske has set us some really entertaining and thought provoking challenges over the course of the month. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.