Hrubieszowianka

By hrubieszowianka

Day 6 in Poland

There is this French saying: to be drunk like a Pole or to drink like one. Excuse me, I'm very ignorant when it comes to speaking French and very ashamed of it.
Also I was drunk when I agreed to "go out" with my now official husband of 11 years and I ended up living in a foregin country and have a child who doesn't speak my lingo (she understands it though, because she has a determined mother).
It is also true that one of my uncles had to do some time for riding a bicycle under influence. Which of course was a waste of pulic resources, but I won't go into it now.
However, you have to believe me that Polish Christmas is not about drinking. It is all about eating. Overeating, really. The amount of food prepared for those 3 days (includes Christmas Eve) is unbelievable. Mine own mother had 3 fish in the bath, which I promised to blip, but they were dead by the time I got there. Fortunately they were made immortal here.

The blip shows two grown men trying to open a bottle of wine in the house, where there were 2 corkscrews, both broken and completly useless. They tried to use a screwdriver combined with one of the broken tools but ended up doing the floater (pushing the cork in and serving the wine in a jug). Can you see the desperation on their faces?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.