Misty day in the Chilterns

We had a hedge-laying session at the nature reserve this morning, in thick mist and drizzle. I was glad to finish in the early afternoon, with water running down my neck. After clearing away, I thought I'd get a few photographs before heading home to dry out. This steep, bendy lane now divides the new part of the reserve and we manage the beech woods on either side. This sharp bend, with 20ft banks on either side is called The Crong. I've been told that this is an ancient word with the same derivation as 'crank', i.e. a sharp double-bend, but I've never been able to find evidence for this.

In the 1930s, a number of car and motorcycle clubs held competetive hill climbs up this lane, but it never became as famous as nearby Aston Hill, which gave the Aston Martin part of its name. I suppose 'Crong' didn't quite have the same ring!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.