I have ...

...bitten off more than I can chew.

I promised my Thursday art group that I would show them how to do paintings on velvet. I did this successfully 30 or 35, no it must have been 40 years ago (am I that old...). I used to collect bound books of Victorian and Edwardian girl's magazines and this is where I got the technique from. But I never saw it done. I just worked it out from the words I read.

I already have some black cotton velvet I bought years ago intending to try it again but never did (it was still in its plastic bag in the garage...those mice didn't use that for nesting material but oh no the mice used my expensive pastels after chewing through the solid plastic boxes...).

So I thought it a simple matter today to get the velvet out and cut it up...BUT..

a) I need something to stretch it on, cos my art group are doing this as well, they are producing a picture too...
b) I don't have enough embroidery hoops...
c) I don't have time now to put the velvet in little frames (I am out all day tomorrow with a support group and won't get back until late).
d) Panic now setting in...I need something stronger than a cuppa...

I saw some snowdrops in my garden a short while ago and thought I would paint these on black card...simple I thought...but it is not very good. I have forgotten about leaving the black between the petals and the leaves. And more stuff I had forgotten. And then I realised I needed to work out the best colours to use for the most effective successful painting on the black velvet. I think my head is a bit fried at the mo.

At the moment I don't know how to approach this...oh, and I googled Victorian ladies and black velvet...you don't want to do that...it wasn't the gentle art of Victorian ladies painting flowers on velvet in the drawing room...

I have just had an idea...I have some spray glue and a cardboard box...do you think I could cut squares velvet, squares of cardboard and glue them on? I am going to have to try something...

This is my painting for today for a pic a day in 2017, from a panic stricken gennepher...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.