The entrance...

...to fairyland...

Many years ago I was driving and J was in the passenger seat. I came off the motorway to a roundabout. There were three lanes on the roundabout and I needed the middle lane initially and then the inside lane further round the roundabout for my turn off.

I was looking to my right as I entered the middle lane on the roundabout and there it was...this most beautiful yellow green light...it was the entrance to fairyland..I couldn't see any cars to my right...I couldn't even see the roundabout...nor the motorway I had just come off...yet a split second before when I checked to my right as I left the slip road into the roundabout all conditions and lighting were normal and there were no cars on the roundabout as I entered it...

...I said "J...fairyland...look..."

Of course by this time I was in the left lane to turn off left and the whole beautiful yellow green wonderland had gone. All lighting and conditions and road and cars were as normal.

J was still looking straight ahead as he always did. He never looked either side. I was surprised he hadn't responded. I said "J!!! Didn't you see the entrance to fairyland?"

"What?" J said.

He hadn't seen it. How could he not have seen it? He was in the same car as me. Sitting in the front passenger seat next to me. He hadn't even heard me say "J...fairyland...look..."

The entrance to fairyland was amazing...out of this world...it was a fraction of a second I saw it...but that fraction of a second lasted at least minutes. I can still see it in my mind so beautiful and fresh and enticing.

This would have been about 15 to 20 years ago. It was last week when I bought some acrylic paints and one was a lime yellow. It was the exact colour I had seen that day at the entrance to fairyland. I bought all 5 tubes that were on the shelf!!! It brought it all back to me, and I have been thinking about this since last week.

I have looked up in a book on clouds and atmospheric conditions to see if it was an atmospheric effect due to certain conditions at the time. It was in my book. So, it appears to have been an atmospheric optical effect due to prevailing conditions at that particular moment.

But no one can tell me I didn't see the entrance to fairyland...

This picture for today was playing with the lime yellow, titanium white, and hookers green. Just the one wide brush was used.

This painting is nothing like the amazing scene I saw that day, but it does have potential for a further painting at a later date when I have more time and can become fully immersed in it.

So this is my contribution today for my painting/drawing challenge I set myself to do a pic every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.