Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Edge of the Sea

Recently watched a documentary on Rachel Carson so found myself rereading some of her 1955 book "the edge of the sea"... That space between tides that keeps changing but is host to so many hardy creatures. Her "Silent Spring" of 1962 against pesticides is said to be the real start to the environmental protection movement ... Seems not that long ago.
One of the two USB port adapters on my new computer isn't working and I've yet to make the Sony photos go to the computer via wifi. So... Easy to put on the iPad and use some apps. So here you get a painterly version of the rock outcrop west of "our" beach where I count the starfish population... Only at a much lower tide. We are still both dragging with this cold but decided we needed some exercise...so a walk here...And a sauna later!

I just saw on the news that there is a record number of eagles nearby on the mainland --that I blipped on Sunday ... Up to 800.! I'm sure I saw several hundred. Feeding on a compost facility there ( plus gulls and ducks) because their late fall feeding of salmon in nearby streams was frozen out. Guess I'll have to have my bigger camera ready for the trip home. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.