Diana_Field Photography

By dianafieldphoto

Portofino, Italy.

The beautiful Portofino. <3 This was one of my last trips to Genoa and I still hadn't visited this place. I eventually planned a trip by train which worked out ridiculously cheap. (About £10 return trip with a bus from the station to Portofino). 


I set off really early to have loads of time and the bus ride from the station to Portofino was gorgeous in itself. I actually started chatting to an English guy who was in retirement and travelling by himself. We had a long conversation about travel on the bus and he seemed a little lonely. We arrived in Portofino which is actually such a small little place and headed towards the little hill. I'm very much an independent traveller but didn't mind walking into the village with him. We made it up the hill and each of us kept stopping to look at various things. I went up ahead and tried to get his attention to let him know what way I was going but accidentally lost him. I could see he was lost in conversation with another set of tourists. After that I couldn't see him again and he must have wandered off on a different route. I feel bad that I never said bye. He was a really lovely elderly man who must've just wanted some British company for the day. Anyway, I texted my friends back at the ship who all just told me to run but it can be obvious if a stranger has bad or good intentions and I wasn't worried. :)


After I accidentally lost him I wandered around for a bit longer taking photos but had happily seen everything in an hour! It is tiny! I caught the bus back to Santa Margherita and went on to find a yummy lunch & wine before going back. The place was deserted as it was out of season. Still quite warm but very quiet - most places shut!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.