In Over My Head

By SteveFrancis4

Abbey Road?

As I drove home today there were several people walking across this Zebra crossing and I had the strangest flash to the album cover for Abbey road. Unfortunately I did not have 4 people on hand to wear flared trouser suits and walk across the road. Instead I contented myself with this picture applying an ageing effect to make it look like a photo taken in the late 60's would have looked. Compared to the original image the forefront is much darker and deeper while the background is more bleached making the white gable end almost disappear.

As for the album - it has my absolute favourite song on it, Come Together! For some information you may not know -

It has been speculated that each verse refers cryptically to each of The Beatles: "he's one holy roller" allegedly refers to the spiritually inclined George Harrison; "he got monkey finger, he shoot Coca-Cola" to Ringo Starr, the funny Beatle; "he got Ono sideboard, he one spinal cracker" to Lennon himself; and "got to be good-looking 'cause he's so hard to see" to Paul McCartney.

Alternatively, it has also been suggested that the song has only a single protagonist and Lennon was painting another sardonic self-portrait

Either way this song and the album would make a fine addition to any musical collection!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.