Dusk in early spring

Signs of spring are all around, particularly appropriate for the pagan festival of Imbolc, which means ewe's-milk. The garden is full of pearly snowdrop blossoms, and the first crocuses are in bud. At the Rowing Lake the swans were getting rather aggressive, both to each other and to me, and a song thrush was singing vigorously. And for the first time this year it was warm enough to walk without a coat, and still light at five o'clock. 

I missed yesterday's blip, as I spent the day at an emergency first-aid course run by the Wildlife  Trust. It was a really excellent day with a very good tutor, who actually taught us what we really need to know in the field. I now feel properly able to deal with any problems that might come up when I'm leading groups on wildlife walks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.