Abstract Thursday : : Rocks

A rainy day...the kind that makes you want to stay in your flannel pajamas all day and watch trashy programs on television in front of the fire. Ozzie doesn't see it that way, however, and once out with him I was happy to join my neighbor for coffee. OilMan is mystified by how women can sit and talk to each other without an agenda, bullet points or a list of questions. 

We can't even put the world to rights anymore...it just seems too far gone to know where to start. But we can talk about what we are willing to do and how best to do it. I am grateful for what I have and just hope to be able to share the abundance in my life with others who aren't so fortunate. I can hardly bear to think about the refugees from Syria who have nothing...not even a homeland.

I ran into Chris today, the homeless man who spends most of his days in the little park near the Flying Goat.I haven't seen him in quite awhile and have been carrying a book around in my car for him for days. I gave it to him on the way in and was pleased to see him reading it when I was on the way out. Bill Bryson's book about walking the Appalachian trail, A Walk in the Woods seemed a good choice for him and he suggested I might like Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon.
It was a simple conversation, but the smile on his face when I waved to him and a simple conversation about books were potent reminders that our humanity is not a function of the stuff with which we surround ourselves, it it the stuff within us...

My oft photographed rocks in Spring Lake seemed fairly appropriate for Abstract Thursday I gave them a little Mobile Monet veneer.. Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.