Memories

It's a real dreich day out there so I won't be spending any time outside that I don't have to.

Last night Kent christened the washer and dryer by getting our laundry caught up. Today it is my turn as with it being Friday it is bed linen day.

These two items are from my childhood. The bell, my father bought my mother and it was used to "call" us kids in from playing in the neighbourhood. Our neighbour's also had a bell but we could distinguish between the two So much better than your mother screaming for you at the top of her lungs!

The paper weight is one my mother's parents gave my father. It sat on my father's desk in his room when I was growing up. We weren't to touch anything on his desk. I was always taking opportunities to lift this off the desk and look at it. I'm not sure why I found it so fascinating but I did.

When my parents moved back to Scotland 20 years ago, these two items were given to me to continue to cherish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.