Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Egret in alder

Today I went for quite a decent walk but actually found my blip right at the start of it.  This little egret was fishing down by the stream.  It's a habit, I'm told, he's taken to lately, though I haven't seen him here before.  He's looking rather grumpy.  He had let me take quite a lot of pictures as he was fishing and I was there a little while.  It's interesting to see how egrets make their feet kind of judder under the water to stir up breakfast.

However, inevitably too many people with kids and dogs were wandering down the footpath and finally he got the hump and flew up into this alder tree.  I chose this shot over the ones at water level because the light was so much better.  It's quite a shaded stream.

What else?  Well I bought myself a book as I'd forgotten my library card (uh huh?) and some coconut oil.  I'm having trouble with my eyes getting sore and think I'm reacting to make-up remover so I thought I'd try this instead.  If it doesn't work I can always cook with it!

There.  You really wanted to know that, didn't you?  (Okay, okay, so that bit's for my great-grandchildren, always supposing I get any - I don't have grandchildren yet!  But they'll like such details.  I remember being rivetted to read of my great-grandmother having a man come to her house so her hair could be 'champooed'.  Or was that a euphemism?)

Hope your weekend's going well, lovely peeps  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.