Goldfinch on a Teasel

Len planted the teasels in 2015, in the hope of attracting goldfinches.

They flowered last summer. I thought that they had opened and shed their seeds. Certainly, I never saw any goldfinches come near them and was going to ask Len to uproot them.

Wonder of wonders, a casual glance out of the window revealed that a goldfinch had finally come to visit. Perhaps they eat everything else before resorting to teasels. He stayed for around 15-20 minutes, giving me time to change the lens on my camera to a long telephoto.

Then he obligingly stayed around until I'd procured a few shots.

It was a glorious sunny day, and I felt that I should have taken Basil for a walk this afternoon. However, Baz has been a bit out of sorts these last few days, so I didn't push it.

We had gone to the Open Church coffee morning where I'd shown off my photos of Scotland.

The rugby has started on the TV so I think I shall join Len on the new settee. Whereas he will watch (unless he nods off), I think I shall just nod off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.