*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Today's surprise!

A funny looking bird swam by me as I was walking along the river Aire this afternoon. I didn't have my glasses on so just thought it was some sort of odd-looking duck. Then a bit further along I saw a large, dark bird on the opposite bank. At first glance I thought it was a black swan, there did used to be some on this section of the river but I've not seen one for many years. Got my camera out and zoomed in for a closer look and realised it was a cormorant. I've never seen one on the river before so it was a surprise. There weren't any others so I hope it's ok, seems an unusual place for one to be though? I watched it for ages swimming and diving in the water. It seemed happy enough and it was fascinating to watch. They give herons a run for their money for looking prehistoric/weird! There was a distinct lack of herons today - I wonder if there may be some conflict between the two species?

Terrible photo but it had to be today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.