CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A camera fan at Stroud Farmer's Market

Helena had a stall today at the modern Merrywalks shopping centre so we were up early. I dropped her there, then returned home for breakfast and then went back into town. I had a few errands and once they were done I walked to the Farmer's Market which didn't seem as busy as usual despite the bright weather with its blue sky and warm sunshine.

I was particularly looking for the stalls selling seed potatoes as Helena had told me that it is Stroud Potato Day run by a group called Transition Stroud. They encourage people to grow traditional varieties of potatoes and make them available for people to take home to grow. Needless to say that I didn't find them at first.

This gentleman saw my camera and came up to me, interested in whether it was a film camera. A long discussion them occurred outside the Farmer's Market as we chatted about photography. He had been a professional photographer until he retired a few years ago. I asked him if I could take a picture, and this blip is it. I didn't even ask him his name but we left each other laughing.

When I went back to see Helena at the Merrywalks, I found Potato Day in the area covered by the atrium. I have added a couple of pictures to the 'Extra photos' showing lots of hands all touch and gathering the seed potatoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.