St Martin's Stamford

I've had a lovely day in the company of my daughter. We've been to Lincolnshire to see a man about a car. I took the pic of St Martin's Church in Stamford High Street from the passenger seat of her S2000. Neither of us has been there before and we were very taken with the town. Evidently it's the best place in Britain to live.

When we left home it was raining but the weather gradually brightened. Our business complete, we sat in the sunshine in a farm gateway eating the tasty American/Jewish style sarnies she had made and supping coffee from my flask. We've always enjoyed in-car picnics. :)

Today's poem is Song For The Last Act by Louise Bogan. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/48405

She wrote it after she had met TS Eliot. She was obviously smitten, even though he had "yellow eyes". I believe that she was abused as a child and that she abused alcohol.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.