Camouflaged Konik

I made Jazzy stand and wait by the ivy bush outside the back door until I found a bug. It was a minute fly and it had a minuscule orange grub attached to it. When we walked down to the field we saw a bumble bee looking for a home. Won't be long until the bugs are back in force. :)

I went for a walk at Amwell Nature Reserve this afternoon. I spent ages trying to capture goldcrests, they just don't stay still, my pics were poor.
I saw the Konik horses approaching and was surprised that they left the grassy path and walked into the reedbed, munching as they went. I have read that these Polish horses, descended from the ancient Tarpan wild horse, will eat scrub and reeds in the winter but this is the first time I've seen it. This helps to create habitat for invertebrates and birds. The blue dun coats of these 'little horses' blend beautifully with the reeds, I love that dark dorsal stripe. People are advised not to feed or pet them as it makes them cheeky. 

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.