Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Snowdrop time again...

A pleasantly unhurried sort of day, with a positively spring-like feel. In the morning Pete and I went into Peterborough, so that I could collect my new glasses. The prescriptions is slightly different, so it took a little while for my eyes to adapt, but working at the computer is so much easier now. We stopped for a leisurely coffee at Bewiched before strolling back through town. I took a few more street photos, having been inspired by last Monday's challenge.

Pete then skinned the two rabbits Alex had been given earlier in the week, and I jointed them. Not something I'd like to do every day, but there was a certain satisfaction involved. The joints are now in the freezer, ready to be slow cooked with leeks, bacon and prunes when their donor is able to join us for dinner.

The weather was so beautiful that I spent the afternoon in the garden, pruning some shrubs and planting some Violas that we bought a while ago. The noise of bird song was immense -  goldfinches twittering in the willow, a song thrush in a nearby garden, not to mention the disyllabic call of the great tits and the melancholy song of the robin. The sunshine had real warmth in it, and brought out the first bees on the winter honeysuckle. The warmth had also coaxed the winter aconites and snowdrops into full bloom - such welcome flowers after the long winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.