Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Hot Summer Day at the Duck

Bit of a scorcher in South Canterbury today, and a beautiful day to head into Geraldine to meet up with the inlaws.

As per the Running Duck was my destination of choice as shakes were definitely order of the day.

I love the Duck, and I'm usually there at least two or three times a week. The staff are great, the coffee is consistently fab and the milkshakes are awesome.

My fave is a peanut slab shake with a shot of coffee. Anna and Al the proprietors were struggling for a name for this particular concoction, so a couple of weeks ago I coined the name 'A Kick in the Nuts'. I'm please to say that this has been accepted and is now displayed as such on the blackboard.

It's great to go into a cafe and ask for a Kick in the Nuts, especially when you get a lovely smile back too.

All my years working in marketing were not for nothing, obviously!

Ah yeah, in the foreground here you'll see a stand of sweet corn. These were planted by Incredible Edibles Geraldine, a local not-for-profit that has put in veggie gardens around the town that anyone can harvest from. The idea is that if you take you make a donation of a veg or fruit plant for them to use in the future. What an awesome idea and one of the reasons this community is so awesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.