0502

Another day touring Costa Blanca.

We met my relatives at 11 am and headed to Orihuela to hike up to Cruz de la Muela. Well, the winds go so strong and scary that we had to abort from the mountain. We have to try another day with some other group of people. It really felt like the wind could push you from the fairly narrow path down the hill. But it is a great hiking place. We'll definitely try it again.

Then we visited Orihuela Medieval Market. The wind tried it's hardest to blow us all away. All the trash and dust was flying around. The people selling in the market were holding the poles of their booths. It was crazy. And there were people everywhere. I tried to take some pictures. But with all this happening around and having the dogs there as well, the adjustments in my camera had shifted and all the Orihuela pictures were overexposed. I am so disappointed!



We drove back taking a d-tour to Embalse de la Pedrera. It's so beautiful with it's turquoise water. As you can see from the pictures, the wind was blowing there too.



Then we came back. Left the dogs home and went to search for late lunch. About the only place open was a bar held by a Brit or Irish. (Sorry, but I can't say which based on the accent.) We had a traditional Sunday roast. That was interesting. It didn't leave me hungry, but I won't be going again. Perhaps I'm not a roast person. And all the Irish can think it was English and all the English can think it was Irish cooking.



After lunch we drove my relatives back to their hotel. We'll meet them tomorrow afternoon when my mom's sister and her husband will drive here from Fuengirola. So we'll have a morning off.



We have the heating back on. Our landlady came late last night and increased pressure on the system. There was a hidden button to do that. Now we have HEAT. Apparently the system has not been working good all through the winter. (I just thought it was your basic Spanish heating that works so and so.) When we came back from taking the dogs out (after our landlady had left), we smelled something burning. Turned out it was only dust burning on the radiators as this was the first time for a long time that they were really hot. So, now I feel kind of irritated that we could have had a warm winter here inside the house, but didn't because the heat was barely functioning. Well, that's life. We survived. I don't think this is my week...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.