Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sometimes you feel like a nut...

This was another day that kind of got away from me, photographically speaking.  Thankfully, White-breasted nuthatches can almost always be seen in our yard if one just waits for 5-10 minutes.  I often hear their distinctive "yank-yank" call before I see them and today was no exception.  This male was on the peanut feeder, so I cropped this to just show his head - and, if you look closely, his tiny tongue.  This is my 16th photographed yard bird.  And here's a full-body shot

This morning, before our usual Sunday morning chat with my parents, I headed out to get our paper when I noticed a bunch of big dark shapes up in the hickory and oak trees at the edge of our yard.  Vultures!  And, not just the common Turkey Vultures, but also several Black vultures, which made 28 species seen from my yard so far this year.  Unfortunately, they were all up high and backlit against a bleak gray sky so the pictures were horrid.  But,  it is likely that they'll make another appearance and perhaps the light will be more favorable.  

Usually every winter there will be several mornings where 30 or more vultures will perch up in our trees for several hours- no idea why they do this but wonder if it is because they are waiting for the thermals to kick up.  Whatever the case, the 27 that were here this morning, slowly started taking off around 10:30 and by 11 the last one had left.  I like vultures, so I'm happy when they decide to visit.

We also had a Cooper's Hawk make a mad dive into the feeder area while we were on the phone with mom and dad - she came up empty and took off almost immediately, back into the woods.  Hopefully she was able to find a meal.  

I didn't get over to see MIL today - had to catch up on laundry and house work and also wanted some down time.  Hubs stopped in and said she was a little melancholy but by the time he left she'd cheered up.  I know we need to expect some ups and downs.  He'll stop back over tonight for a while and I'll stop in tomorrow.  They have a therapy dog who visits the residents on Mondays, too, which I know she'll enjoy.

Thanks for the hearts, stars and comments on my little goldfinch yesterday.  I will be posting more photos as they go through their molt into summer plumage - it's always pretty amazing to see the difference in the males as they go from a dull olive-brown to a vibrant bright yellow.

Be well, people.  Hug the ones you love.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.