Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday

Thanks to BikerBear for hosting this week's Flower Friday!  I don't find myself photographing many flowers here in the dead of winter, but since Hubs gave me 2 dozen gorgeous red roses for my birthday, I thought I'd have a go at it.  It is ridiculously windy out, so I set up my little soft box in the office with lights on either side, put the D600 on a tripod with the 105 macro lens and fired away.  Even with the lights, it was pretty dark, so I shot this at 1/40 shutter with aperture at f/9 to give it a little depth.  No cropping, but I did lighten it ever so slightly in LR and brought up the red luminescence.  

I finally ordered Scott Kelby's Lightroom CC book and, for me, it was money well spent!  I like his friendly style of writing and I've already learned so much about the program. Heck, I may even take a deep dive into Photoshop next!   Anyhoo, if you want to see a much more processed shot of the same rose, click HERE to view on Flickr

Awoke to a light dusting of snow this morning, but by noon it was all melted.  There are still some patches of snow from the blizzard two weeks ago around the shadier parts of our property, but mostly we are snow-free now.

Hope everyone is headed to a great weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.