Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Green Face

So the weather forecast was wrong and the rain all came last night - by this morning it was dry although overcast.  By this afternoon, the sun was out so I decided to take a break from packing/cleaning and take Big Daddy for a spin.  We made a stop at Boca Ciega where things were relatively quiet...except that the big gator there was cruising around the pond, not the least bit interested in eating any of the nearby birds!  

From there, I zipped over to Lake Seminole to check on the heron rookery and the osprey.  While there, I saw an unidentified hawk continuously diving on the gulls on the lake, even though they were nearly the same size at the hawk.  Interesting behavior.  I also saw a lone GB heron standing perfectly silhouetted against the lake.

While nice, neither was blip material so I started to head out of the park on my way home to press Phoebe into service ... when I saw it!  The Great Egret with it's beautiful long feathers flowing in the breeze wind!  Out of the car in a flash and into super-stealth-stalking mode.  Which was kind of silly since it didn't seem to mind that I approached within 15 feet - it kept an eye  on me, but remained perched on the railing.  I decided to try for some close ups using the full zoom (500mm).  This image isn't cropped or fiddled with in any way.  I had time to adjust my settings to get the max out of the available light - sometimes it all just comes together!  I liked this one because you can clearly see the green lores, which are another facet of this bird's breeding plumage/colors.  In the none-breeding season, the lores will be yellow like the rest of his beak.  Pretty cool and festive!

I may head down to Ft. DeSoto tommorrow - kind of depends on the weather and tides.  But, I've got a hankering for the beach...  And Saturday, I'm meeting Sefferdog at Circle B Bar for some major birding/photography!  Woohoo!

Thanks very much for all the hearts, stars and comments on yesterday's GBH - maybe I should have hubs select my blips more often as he seems to always pick winners.  You humble me with all you lovely comments.  Thank you.

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.