Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A murder...

... of crows!  That is what a flock of crows is called - a murder.  There are a number of theories as to how this term came to be used; but as far back as the 1500's there are references to a "murder of crows".  

These particular crows are Fish Crows, very common in this part of Florida.  Like all crows, they are smart and raucus and highly social.  This shot is just a very small sampling of a murder that had several hundred birds in it - all flying over my head.  Why I didn't get pooped on is nothing short of a miracle.  

This won't go down as being one of my better blips entries, but I like it because, for me, it captures the magnitude of the huge flocks of crows that I see here in Florida.  If you'd like to see more of the murder, this shot shows a bigger view.  And if you'd prefer to see an osprey hovering high above the lake, eyes focused like lasers  on the water, click here.

A fairly uneventful day although I did get my hair cut - had them lop off about 3 inches.  Hubs isn't so keen on it, but I like it.  We're off to Dunedin to have dinner with some friends tonight.  Then tomorrow morning, bright and early, we are off to Circle B Bar to meet Sefferdog!  I expect to see some wondrous sights tomorrow, and to have many laughs!

Happy Friday, people.  
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.