Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snowscape...

You know I like to break out of my birdy thing once in a while and do something different. And today felt like perfect day for a snowscape. I went to one of my favorite spots (where a plowed road makes access possible) and took a bunch of shots. I decided on this one because I like the colors. I used a polarizing filter on this to bring out the blues and tame the snow a bit. The old barn gives it some visual interest, too, I think. Landscapes aren't my strong suit, so constructive feedback would be very much appreciated. My second choice, same spot from a slightly different vantage point is HERE.

Now, some time ago I mentioned that I thought it would be fun to stage the nature version of the Olympics while the real Winter Olympics are going on... so get your local birds, bugs and creatures ready! There aren't any rules and the only medals will be imaginary ones. I challenge you to come up with some new Olympic game categories, such as Peanut Eating or maybe the Sparrow Seed Kicking category ... Hey, just use your imagination and let your local wildlife give you inspiration. I suggest that everyone tag their entries AOG (Alternative Olympic Games) - that way we can check out the competitors around the world. Personally, I'm looking forward to seeing some of the cool birds from Oz and NZ .. Not to mention those talented robins from the UK...

So, let's have some fun, people! I'm happy to say that a member of Tallyho Team Squirrel has finally made an appearance on my deck feeders this afternoon - I'm hoping that means that they'll be competing. They were a hit during the last Alternative Olympics, when they put up a good showing in the Soccer Competition. And since the chipmunks are on vacation in their burrows, Team Squirrel won't really have much competition...or will they.... (the excitement and suspense is building - can you feel it???)

Some of my potential Olympic contenders are posted on Flickr, starting HERE

Happy Thursday, people!

Debb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.