Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

A little town planning

Today I finished installing the sidewalks for my downtown. They are made by Bar Mills and about .06" thick. So that the eventual buildings (most by Woodland Scenics) sit correctly behind the sidewalks, I installed pieces of .06" styrene behind the sidewalks. Then added some sparkle on the outside edges so that they don't show too much. Finally painted everything the base ground color.

Because it will be a while before I get around to building all of these buildings, I may do a foamcore mockup instead of each block. I may scam the front elevation of each building into the computer and then print out a black and white copy and paste each on the foamcore. Won't fool the eye but at least the town will not look like someone bombed it.

You may notice that instead of lining up the street with either the railroad or the layout edge, it is canted. This will give a different view of the town - sort of a 30 degree angle so you see the front and one side at the same time.

Next up is to fix my Sn3 swinging door which I have been putting off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.