Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Found the problem-now the solution

This blip is of the swinging door/rail bridge on the SN3 layout. When I took off the door and supported the layout from the walls, all seemed ok. New carpet went down and only a few knocked heads. But in doing all of that I wracked the frame. After much adjustment of the new screw legs, I have the door and adjoining track bed very close. Better than ever. However I have found that the two tracks to the right of the turnout are ever so slightly higher than the main table. Same at the other end.

Could not figure it out but finally put a straight edge on the track and found a bump or slight raise in the middle -right between the turnout and the joint. Maybe 1/8". Does not sound like much but that was enough to short the locomotive pilot. Hmmmm. So the fix which I will document involves taking up the track on but sides of the turnout, removing some subroadbed, and installing new track.

At that time I can also address the rails not meeting on the left side. Actually the track on the top of the blip that curves away from the door has had a kink from the beginning that gives trouble to my passenger cars. Sloppy track laying.

So many fixes. Something to do in the morning when I am not tired. But things should be running again in Dolores.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.