Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Beach

Another work trip, this time to the north of Northern Ireland where I have a night in Portrush before a meeting in Coleraine in the morning.

It's been a blustery and wet afternoon, but thankfully conditions were calmer for the flight over to Belfast.  A couple of hours on the train brought me here to the north coast, just a few miles from the Giant's Causeway and with Scotland on the horizon.

Marooned as I usually am far inland, but being a seasider by birth, I couldn't come all this way without exploring the beach and headland. The bird life was mostly sheltering from the wind, but there were plenty of Sanderling, Turnstone, Oystercatcher and Redwing with single Redshank, Curlew and, out to sea, a Black Guillemot. See extras for some of the bird life and extra scenery.

I've only ever been to Northern Ireland for work, some time I'll have to come over and explore at leisure

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.