Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Buoy

So my brief visit to Northern Ireland comes to an end.

The morning meeting went well for all concerned, and I had an hour to explore the outskirts of Coleraine before by airport transfer ride turned up.

Down on the River Bann, this Cormorant was looking attractive silhouetted against the shimmering water.

A little further down the road I at last unearthed a heritage nugget (extras) a sign from the Midland Railway Northern Counties Committee (MNRCC) under a rail bridge which I'd traveled over on a train the day before. The MNRCC existed between 1903 and 1923, so the humble plaque is quite a survival.

Earlier, I managed one more walk down to the beach after breakfast and was rewarded by the first Eider I've seen in years.

Now I'm in the airport departure lounge hoping for a prompt and safe flight home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.