Shopping Tour

After the long night and the Espresso Martinis we all got up around 10 am. Gavin was making delicious omelettes for us and we had all a relaxed morning.
We hit the road at noon to go on our shopping tour homewards.
We do that trip since a few years and have a certain routine. We drive the scenic rout trough the Yorkshire Dales and stop at several places and farmshops until we hit the motorway. 
It starts with Hellifield Highland beef, a Highland cattle farm were we stock up meat. The next stop is the Courtyard in Settle. Here I have found my "Cheese Heaven" - see extra! 
This is the most amazing cheese shop. You can try any cheese they have and the guy running it is awfully nice. I managed not to overdo it today. But I got some wonderful blue cheeses, a pecorino with truffle, an English Brie and my favourite Hafod Cheddar. Check out The Courtyard Dairy when you pass Settle. Next stop is and Organic Farm with a wee shed as shop. They were closed when we arrived, but while I was taking some photos a guy appeared and opened the shop for us! Lucky me :). I got some wonderful mixed salad leaves, eggs and a few more things.
Next stop was a bit further, the Country Harvest farm shop with award winning young butchers. We did not buy much here but I found a few nice patés that went with us.
Last stop then at Westmorland Services - Tebay farm shop. I just love this shop. Fabulous deli food, kitchen gadgets, crockery and again a fantastic butcher. They do have amazing rump steak and the butchers knows us already...... I want my steaks 2 inches thick and he always have to cut it especially for us.
Oh and I found there an Espresso Martine Chocolate bar - hellish expensive but now mine!
That was the end of the shopping tour and we reached home a couple of hours later. Neil was doing all the driving while I has a little snooze.
At home I had to rearrange fridge and freezer in order to get all in.
We had a light dinner (I had cheese!) and went to bed - knackered but happy.

Photos: The organic shop (Growing with Grace) and the Cheese Heaven as an extra. 
It was a good weekend and nice end of a wonderful week off work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.