Flying in for dinner

Today we held our mihi whakatau (welcome ceremony) for our new students, staff and parents. It is great to formally welcome everyone new to the school and is an important aspect of bi-cultural New Zealand.

Once our ceremony was completed with the sharing of kai (food) with the 'guests' (another important aspect of a welcome), I headed to Ashburton College to take part in the ceremony there to welcome their new principal and students.  

Attending their ceremony was important to me as their new principal is a friend of mine.  He was the Head of English Faculty and the first person to offer me a teaching position.  He moved on to become principal at another school two years after that, and then the following year appointed me as a Deputy Principal at his new school.  

If you were wanting to lay blame anywhere, you could say that it is his fault I'm a principal myself now. It is nice to have him and his family in the area.

While we were waiting to go to lunch afterwards I spotted this damselfly having its own lunch.

NOTE:  Thank you all so much for your comments stars and hearts on yesterday's sheep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.