Scheveningen

Up early to get all the kids checked out of the hotel and leave their luggage in storage before going to the last day of the conference. After a grey damp start, the skies cleared late morning, and I decided to get on the tram and go to the beach, alone.  I walked along the sea front on this cold but beautiful sunny day, no wind, and found Nirvana.  It felt like I walked for hours, but in fact, when I looked at my watch, less than 90 minutes since I'd left the conference.  Therefore I can conclude that the Akbuk Space Time Continuum stretches to Holland.  Good to know. 

Afternoon came and so did the closing ceremony.  Identical really to the last five years, nice that two of our kids were on stage in positions of 'authority'.  As America, some of them have had a challenging week, but the Stars and Stripes was waved just as enthusiastically as any flag could be. 

And then it was all over. The 49th Internation Model United Nations conference, with almost 3.5 thousand delegates, 

Dash back to the hotel, bus came at 18.00, all aboard, and by 19.30 we were checked in to our hotel in Amsterdam where we will be tourists tomorrow. 

Extra photos from the closing ceremony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.