Not quite as planned

There were not many people on Fish Hoek beach this afternoon. And I should not have been there anyway.

Today did not turn out as planned – for me at least.
 
Back in September for his birthday, I gave Gordon tickets for a cricket match at Cape Town’s Cricket Ground – Newlands. With much help and advice from our daughter and son-in-law, I managed to buy tickets for a match between South Africa and Sri Lanka for today – our last day in South Africa. Our daughter insisted that I went as well, despite my having no interest whatever in the game – she did say that I could take my books and even my knitting!
 
So it came to the time and I have to say I was actually looking forward to it, not exactly excited, but certainly I was interested and knew the Ground was in a most beautiful setting below Table Mountain.
 
However, this morning I was not well. Not ill, but not well. I had a stomach upset of some kind and could eat nothing. Eventually we realised that the last thing I should be doing was sitting for hours in a stadium, in the sun (although our daughter had actually made sure she booked seats in the shade). So I quite reluctantly stayed behind and Gordon left on his own.
 

He has just arrived back after having a wonderful day – so the birthday present worked out all right in the end. I have had a quiet day and feel just about okay now. We fly home tomorrow.  
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.