Kamran

By kamran

Karl Heinz

Karl Heinz (56) / Magdeburg / Jobless / Homeless

Saw this guy collecting beer bottles in the park and approached him. He immediately rejected my request for photography and left. I went to him again and explained that I was not from press and that my pictures were for a personal reportage. One thing I should admit that I also told him that I could help him little bit if he agreed to be photographed. This was the first time that I had offered somebody like that. He asked how much money I would offer to him. Knowing that I had a 5 euro note in my pocket, I said "5 Euros". He agreed and we started talking to each other while I also continued to take his pictures.

Karl is jobless since 1990 and also homeless. He has 6 children but his family has left him. In Magdeburg he lives in a shelter house provided by the city administration. He collects bottles from the parks/street and garbage containers and gets refund money by returning them.

That's it what he told me about his life. After spending 5 to 10 minutes with him, I gave him 5 euros and he immediately went away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.