Returning travellers

It turned into a bit of a late night, tonight.  I was due to collect my wife and daughter from the airport, but their flight from Biarritz was delayed;  the incoming flight from London couldn't land because of high winds, and was diverted some 100 miles to the east at Pau.  Wife and daughter had then to be taken by bus from Biarritz to Pau and return home from there.  In the circumstances, I suppose an arrival home just 3.5 hours late wasn't too bad - but it meant for a late night in bed.

While waiting for them to come through customs and emerge into the arrivals hall, I was watching the other passengers coming through.  A guy next to me, also waiting to meet family (from another delayed flight), commented that none of the people coming through was smiling.  None of them seemed pleased to be home. Or maybe they were all just tired and fed up after delayed flights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.