Spong

Who remembers a Spong mincer? It was an essential part of my mother's kitchen, mincing up the Sunday roast leftovers to make a cottage or shepherds pie.

I had a different mincer bought to make sausages but it was a beast, coated in silver paint, heavy, difficult to work, got clogged up and generally useless. I wanted to replace it but all the modern mincers are the same as far as I could see. Susan's mum had a Spong mincer but we couldn't find it at all.

I've never used Ebay, although I've got an account, nor have I used PayPal so I thought this was the ideal opportunity to see if I could find a Spong mincer. The first attempt was unsuccessful but the second attempt was and I became the proud owner of a Spong mincer for £7.60 plus postage and packing - cheaper than buying a new one. Came with all the disks and the original instructions. Use it to mince some cooked pork - it did the job perfectly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.