gennepher

By gennepher

I had promised...

...my art group that I would teach them again today. This time how to do my paintings you have seen on here using acrylics, a brush, a wallpaper/paint scraper, and those with blue, white, and paynes grey, and also a touch of burnt sienna in the second painting.

By the time everyone got gathered, and then the clearing up time at the end, and the 15 min coffee break in the middle, that basically leaves us one hour and fifteen minutes for me to do two demonstrations and them to do two paintings. So basically I have just 35 minutes for each half.

So I decided to do two paintings I have posted on here before. I spent nearly ten minutes demonstrating the first painting, the upright one at the top. I was explaining stuff too. Then they had about 25 mins to do something similar to what I had done. I did help where it was asked and I did a bit of work on each of their paintings for the first one in order to explain technique and to keep up their confidence. Everyone did something completely different even though it was the same colours, same tools, same piece of card.

Coffee break over and we had literally 30 mins left. So I completed the second demonstration pic at speed of lightning, 5 min. And then told them to play. They grumbled I had done it too fast. I simply said use the tools you have, finish off the paints left on your palette, here is a tiny bit of burnt sienna, and anything goes...just have fun...and I sat down and watched and said nothing.

And you know what, they did! They found it very therapeutic. And everyone produced something brilliant again. They all enjoyed themselves.

I won't be doing anything in particular with them next week, I will just be doing my own stuff. But it will be on the lines of the same way I showed them today. So they are bringing their stuff again. And we are all going to play next week.

So here are two pics (the demonstrations I gave) today for my pic every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.