Busy With The Fizzy

I've had to make a big decision today.
Since September, my working hours at the school where I work and where I am otherwise very happy,  have been reduced to virtually 2 days a month. Much as I like sitting around all day, doing a bit of housework and the occasional trip to Waitrose, it's not exactly fulfilling or rewarding.I'm always on the lookout for more work but have always hoped that they might conjure up some more work for me but this hope has held me back from going elsewhere.
Anyway, last night the headteacher at the school I did a 6 week stint at back in September, emailed me and asked me to come back and cover a class for a teacher who has been signed off. We don't know how long she will be off or indeed if she will return. I accepted because it seemed ridiculous to turn the work down. It means I have to take a sabbatical from my current school (which my Head was fine with) and I feel like today could have been my last day there which makes me very sad.
I couldn't bear to tell the children that I don't know when I'll be back. I felt like Captain Von Trapp; 'My fellow Austrians, I shall not be seeing you again perhaps for a very long time'. 
So I wished them a happy half term and legged it as fast as I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.